Colorado’s Homeschool Law
CRS-22-33-104.5 Summary of the Colorado Home School Law
- Home School Definition
Sequential program which takes place in a home, provided by the child’s parent or by an adult relative of the child designated by the parent.
- Contact Hours
172 days minimum, averaging 4 hours per day.
Must include reading, writing, speaking, mathematics, history, civics, literature, science, and regular courses of instruction in the constitution of the United States.
Notification to Colorado school district 14 days before beginning program, as well as each year home schooling continues. Notification shall include only name, age, place of residence, and number of hours of attendance of each child enrolled in home school. Addendum: If child has been habitually truant any time during last six months before home school enrollment, written description of curricula is to be submitted. Reference (3)(b). Addendum: If evaluation results are filed with an independent or parochial school, the name of such school shall be provided to local school district. Reference (3)(f).
Required when child reaches grades 3, 5, 7, 9, 11. Type of evaluation required: national standardized achievement test or Qualified Person evaluates child’s academic progress. Test or Evaluation results to be submitted to: School district where registered, or an independent or parochial school within the state of Colorado.
- Test Score Requirements
Composite score must be above 13th percentile to continue home school program. Child can be re-tested using alternate version of same test or different nationally Standardized Achievement Test. If child does not meet standard, school district of registry must be notified by independent/parochial school; and child’s parents will be required to place child in public or independent or parochial school.
To be maintained by “parent in charge.” Records shall include (at minimum): Attendance Data, Test and Evaluation Results, Immunization Records. Must be produced to school district of registry on 14 days written notice if the superintendent of school district has probable cause to believe that said program is not in compliance with guidelines in law.
- Re-entry into public school.* The school MAY provide the student with a placement test. The grade placement must meet the consent of the parent, and the school district is bound to accept the homeschool transcripts.
- Private and homeschooled students may take the C-SAP test at their own cost, although it is not mandatory. Even if the homeschooled student is taking some classes at his or her local public school, he or she is not required to take the C-SAP test.
- Homeschool students can file their notice of intent in any school district in Colorado. This represents a change from the previous situation where homeschooling parents were required to file their notice of intent to homeschool with the school district in which they reside.
- Homeschool students who wish to participate in extracurricular activities in public school who have moved within the last year have to wait out one year before participating. The same rule applies to students attending public schools.